Association of British Scrabble Players

Tournament Results

This is the Hall of Fame, listing all tournament winners since the formation of the ABSP in 1987. If you can supply any of the missing data from the early years then please let us know.

A summary of the major event winners can be found at the bottom of this page.

ABSP Masters trophy 1987-90 -- 1991 -- 1992 -- 1993

1994 -- 1995 -- 1996 -- 1997

1998 -- 1999 -- 2000 -- 2001

2002 -- 2003 -- 2004 -- 2005

2006 -- 2007 (Money List)

2008 (Money List) -- 2009 (Money List)

2010 (Money List)

The National Scrabble Championships is organised by Mattel, the Scrabble trademark owners, and has had a variety of formats over its years of existence. The current format involves six regional stages where players play over 7 games in one day; the number of qualifying places available varies according to the number and strength of players in the region. The 60 qualifiers then play a 14-game semi-final stage, with the top two finishers qualifying for a best-of-five head to head final in London towards the end of the year.

The British Matchplay Scrabble Championships (BMSC) is the flagship event of the ABSP. Consisting of 19 games played over the August Bank Holiday weekend, it was held in Nottingham until 2001, moved to Birmingham for 2002-2004 but has more recently found a home at Yarnfield Conference Centre in Staffordshire.

The ABSP Masters is an elite invitational event for the 16 best players in the UK. It is usually a 'round robin' event (i.e. everyone plays everyone else once), currently held on the first weekend in July in Staffordshire.

Other Major Events

The first five tournaments below are considered to be the 'Majors' of Scrabble.

The UK Open was introduced in 2008 and is the longest event of the year, comprising a mammoth 38 games over 5 days in early January. The Spring Matchplay was originally held at Durham University but moved to Daventry in 2008, also increasing from 13 to 25 rounds over the early May Bank Holiday weekend. The Easter Matchplay is held in Exeter over the Easter weekend and comprises 19 rounds, as does the Festival of Scrabble (formerly known as Summer Matchplay) in Edinburgh in June. The Winter Matchplay is 12 rounds played in Milton Keynes in late November each year.

The British Elimination Scrabble Tournament (BEST) is a knockout competition which lasts over six months. Played as a series of face-to-face knockout matches at regional and then national level, the winner typically plays more than 70 games over six months to lift the trophy. The event has its own website with past results.

National Champion BMSC ABSP Masters

1987 Allan Simmons
1988 Allan Simmons
1989 Russell Byers Gareth Williams
1990 Philip Nelkon Phil Appleby
1991 Phil Appleby Allan Simmons
1992 Philip Nelkon Mark Nyman Di Dennis
1993 Allan Saldanha Andrew Fisher Phil Appleby
1994 Mike Willis Russell Byers Allan Simmons
1995 Allan Saldanha Mark Nyman
1996 Andrew Fisher Mark Nyman Gareth Williams
1997 Andrew Cook Andrew Davis Mark Nyman
1998 Mark Nyman Helen Gipson Andrew Fisher
1999 Evan Simpson Andrew Perry Andrew Davis
2000 Brett Smitheram David Acton Mark Nyman
2001 Mark Nyman Andrew Cook Andrew Davis
2002 Mark Nyman Mark Nyman Andrew Davis
2003 Harshan Lamabadusuriya Brett Smiterham Mark Nyman
2004 Mark Nyman Brett Smitheram Mark Nyman
2005 Wale Fashina Harshan Lamabadusuriya Brett Smitheram
2006 Jake Jacobs Brett Smitheram David Webb
2007 Paul Allan Paul Allan Allan Simmons
2008 Allan Simmons Allan Simmons Harshan Lamabadusuriya
2009 Craig Beevers Mark Nyman Jared Robinson
2010 Brett Smitheram Lewis Mackay
UK Open Spring Matchplay Easter Matchplay

1988 Mark Nyman
1989 Barrie Knox
1990 Pete Finley
1991 Simon Gillam
1992 Andrew Fisher
1993 Mark Nyman John Grayson
1994 Helen Grayson Mark Nyman
1995 Mike Willis Terry Kirk
1996 Clive Spate Andrew Fisher
1997 Clive Spate Terry Kirk
1998 Peter Preston Phil Appleby
1999 Rob Dowse Andrew Perry
2000 Mike Willis Allan Simmons
2001 Paul Allan Gareth Williams
2002 David Acton Andrew Fisher
2003 Allan Simmons Femi Awowade
2004 Adam Philpotts Phil Appleby
2005 Adam Logan Ed Martin
2006 Wayne Kelly Brett Smitheram
2007 Ed Martin Elie Dangoor
2008 Nigel Richards Martin Harrison Brett Smitheram
2009 Helen Gipson Austin Shin Phil Robertshaw
2010 Nigel Richards Martin Harrison Wayne Kelly

Festival of Scrabble Winter Matchplay BEST

1989 Darryl Francis
1990 Mark Nyman
1991 Mark Nyman Mark Nyman
1992 Gareth Williams Mark Nyman
1993 Andrew Fisher Evan Simpson
1994 Clive Spate Mark Nyman
1995 Russell Byers Andrew Cook
1996 Martin Fowkes Joyce Cansfield
1997 David Acton Bob Violett
1998 Karl Khoshnaw Jackie McLeod
1999 Joyce Cansfield Andrew Perry
2000 Paul Allan Andrew Cook
2001 Paul Allan Andrew Cook Andrew Fisher
2002 Robert Richland Shanker Menon Paul Allan
2003 Martin Thompson Pete Finley Phil Appleby
2004 Lewis Mackay Pete Finley Adam Logan
2005 Stewart Holden Austin Shin
2006 Paul Allan Craig Beevers Phil Appleby
2007 Helen Gipson Femi Awowade
2008 Mikki Nicholson Austin Shin Harshan Lamabadusuriya
2009 Martin Harrison Azu Ogbogu David Webb

For details of all of these tournaments and others, have a look at the Calendar.